Labour’s candidates for London Mayor

Eight people have applied to become Labour’s candidate for Mayor of London. They are:

  • Diane Abbott, MP for Hackney North & Stoke Newington since 1987, former health minister
  • Tessa Jowell, former MP for Dulwich & West Norwood, former Culture Secretary and Olympics minister
  • Sadiq Khan, MP for Tooting, former transport minister, shadow minister for London
  • David Lammy, MP for Tottenham, former minister for universities and skills
  • Gareth Thomas, MP for Harrow West, former international development minister
  • Christian Wolmar, journalist and author specialising in transport issues
  • Keran Kerai, a writer from Harrow and
  • Neeraj Patil, a former mayor of Lambeth, have also applied.

For more info about each candidate see Labour’s website (bullet point text above is taken from BBC article).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s