London Mayor nomination result

Last night West Ham members chose to nominate Tessa Jowell and Sadiq Khan as Labour’s candidates for Mayor for London.

Photo of people at nomination meetingA packed room began by nominating Diane Abbot, Tessa Jowell, David Lammy, Gareth Thomas, Sadiq Khan and Neeraj Patil for consideration. Lots of West Ham members, both new and not so new, stood up to explain why they were supporting particular candidates. It was a really good atmosphere with every speaker clapped for contributing.

On the first vote, for the women’s nomination, we nominated Tessa Jowell. And in the second vote we nominated Sadiq Khan. Gareth Thomas was second and Diane Abbot just behind and third place. Candidates who get nominated by five or more CLPs will then go forward for shortlisting – with the names of the shortlisted candidates going onto ballots sent out mid-August for Labour members and supporters in London to vote on.

Thank you to all the members who came along and an extra thank you to those who brought food and drink to share.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s